Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 26th, 2009

For the past year or so, we’ve had cable television. It came as part of an insanely cheap package deal which included phone and internet. But the good deal is coming to an end and our bill will increase by at least $70 a month. So we’ve decided to cancel the television and phone. I’m fine with that, unless I think about summer.

I freely admit that I was intending to use the television as a babysitter this summer, having the kids watch t.v. for an hour each day while I napped. I can be a real bear without good rest (as college roommates have good reason to remember) and it only worsens when I am pregnant and am suffering through the stifling summer heat.

So now I’m not sure what to do. We don’t have a DVD player. Our television is an old analog model and DVD players aren’t even compatible. Do you have any ideas of how to keep four kids under the age of 9 quiet, happy and out of trouble while I nap? The boys don’t like to color. I don’t want them playing computer games because they fight. Trent is still a fledgling reader and needs my help with many words. Josef is just on the cusp of reading. So reading kind of seems out of the picture.

If you have an suggestions or ideas, they would be greatly appreciated.

(And for the record, the kids watch t.v. for 30 minutes a day, play computer for 20 minutes and play wii for 20 minutes a day. I don’t want you to think they are always dependent on electronic devices for their entertainment. They can’t play or watch until all homework is completed and have played outside for at least 45 minutes. Just so you don’t think I’m a REALLY bad mom. )

Read Full Post »